Maha Rudra Yajnya

The term 'Rudra' refers to the fierce form of Lord Shiva. Rudra Yagna is performed to worship Shiva,which is called Rudra Yagna. It is the most sacred and powerful among all the Maha Yagna.

The Rudra Yagna is the most sacred and powerful among all the Maha yagna's which consists of Deiva Yagna (worship of Shiva and Other deities), and Manushya yagna (performed with many devotees seeking the grace of the God.

It is performed to wash away all the sins and afflictions,to maintain peace, prosperity and happiness, and family togetherness. It is believed that after the demon,Bhasmasura was killed,Lord Shiva performed the Tandav Nritya(dance) and the "Rudra Yagna", for the betterment of Human.

"Shri Kalahasti" Temple is the place, where the Rudra Yagna was performed and this temple also has one of the 12 Jyothirlingas Lord Shiva. The Shri Rudra,is the ancient type of a listing of various names of Lord Shiva.

It is considered to be of great benefit to human.Various attributes of Lord Shiva are invoked by chanting of Shri Rudra.

Atirudra consists of eleven recitations of Maha Rudra.One Maha Raudra consists of Eleven recitations of Laghu Rudra.One Laghu Rudra is eleven rounds of Ekadash.One Ekadash is eleven Anuvakas and One Anuvaka consists of eleven Shri Rudra Patam.

Everyday One Maharudram is completed and in eleven days an Atirudra Mahayagna is completed. Thus in the Atirudra Mahayagna,the Srirudram hymn is chanted in all 14,641 times in 11 days.

Vedic yagna ritual is optional for chanting the Rudra. When accompanied with the Vedic fire ritual, it is called the Rudra yagna. The Maha Rudra Yagna involves 56 highly learned Vedic pandits, in one place.Shukla Yajurved system is practiced in Northern India,however,Krishna Yajurved system is followed in Southern parts of India.

Continuous recitation of Rigved,Saamved,Yajurved and Atharva Ved,also Ramayan of Tulsidas,Bhagwad Gita, and Shivpuran in original Sanskrit,is done,in front of respective dieties of the temple where this great yagna is performed.This is a very old temple where the worships are being done daily,for the last hundreds of years.

This Atirudra is an Abhishek,which is a process of continuous pouring of milk on the Shivling,sanctified by Vedic rituals with Jal-shayan(water),Anna-shayan(food),Pushpa-shayan(flowers) etc before starting the Atirudra ritual.

This Maha Yagna goes on for 11 days,in presence of 71 prists who perform the rituals.Water of 8 holy rivers-Ganga,Yamuna,Marmada,Krishna, etc. is being used in the yagna. Every day in the evening there will be entertaining programmes like,Bhajans, prayers etc. by noted artists.

Maha Mrityunjay Mantra

It is the Death-Conquering mantra.This great mantra which is dedicated to LordShiva,as Mrityunjay is found in the Rig Veda,havingt many names and forms. It is named as Rudra mantra,in view of the furious aspect of Shiva.

Also called as the Tryambakam mantra, refering to Shiva's three eyes.And its is also known as the Mita-Sanjivini mantra,because it is the "life-restoring" practice given to the sage Shukra,after he had completed an exhausting period of austerity.

The Maha Mrityunjaya mantra is hailed by the sages as the heart of the Veda,which holds the highest place among the mantras.

English Transliteration

Aum Tryambakam yajaamahe l
Sugandhim pushti-vardhanam l
Urvarukamiva bandhanan l
Mrityor mukshiya ma mritat ll


Aum ! We worship and adore you, O three-eyed one, Shiva ! You are the fragrance of life, who nourishes us, restores our health, and causes us to thrive.Please free us from attachment and death, and do not withhold immortality.