Nava-Durga  ❘  Durga Mata Mantra  ❘  Deities Menu

Durga is a Sanskrit word, which means a fort which is difficult to reach. In the pictures, Durgamata the protection goddess of the Hindus and the consort of Shiva. She is seated on a tiger.

Durga is one of the most angry and aggressive forms of the goddess,"Shakti", who fights and conquers demons. Shakti is visible in the female form, wearing red clothes.

The Goddess Durga has eighteen arms, carrying various objects in her hands. The eighteen arms holding weapons signify the unattainable energy that Ma Durga possesses.

Different weapons suggest the idea that she can face any evil force without consideration. The red color symbolizes fierceness and it suggests that goddess destroys evil and protects people from pain and misery caused by evil forces.

She has various names like, Kali, "the black"; Chandi, "the fierce"; Bhairavi, "the terrible."Uma, Gauri; Parvati and Jagatmata, "The-Mother-Of-The-World".

Once the the universe was under a threat by Mahishasura, the demon, whom neither Lord Shiva nor Lord Vishnu could defeat. The Gods pleaded Shiva to protect their world from the evil forces.

Lord Shiva asked the three goddesses, Saraswati, Maa Kali and Maa Lakshami to release their powers (shaktis). The Power emerged in a female form.

The Divine light emerged and a goddess of exceptional power appeared with many arms. She was beautiful as well as ferocious.

Durga was an extremely gorgeous girl with full of rage who was named as Durga by the Gods. She is invincible one and they furnished her with all their arms.

Durga rode on a lion to the top of a mountain. In a violent battle, she killed Mahishasura and thus, saved the universe from the demon's threat.Durgamata is being worshiped since about 400 AD.

Devi represents strength, morality, power and protection. Goddess Durga is the divine mother, who protects people from evil forces of selfishness, jealousy, hatred, anger and ego.


Nava Durga

Nava Durga means the nine forms of Goddess Durga. Each form has special significance. Nava Durga, is worshipped in a big way and ceremoniously during the festival of NavaRaatri.

The 'Devi Kavacha' of the 'Chandipatha' scripture mentions all the nine form of Durgamata. The details of the nine forms are given below.

1- Shailaputri

'Shailaputri' is the daughter of the mountain 'Shaila', who is also known as Parvatimata, Hemavatimata and Sati Bhavanimata. She is worshipped the first among Navadurgas.

She is worshipped on the first day of Navaratri festival. Shailaputri is the embodiment of the power of the trinity, Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. She mounts on a bull and has a trident and a lotus in her hands.

2- Brahmacharini

'Brahmachan' is worshipped on the second day of Navaratri and is the second form of Durgamata. Bharmacharini means one who practices devout austerity and she is a way to 'Moksha'(Salvation).

She holds a rosary and water pot in her hands.She is very blissful and showers her devotees with prosperity, happiness, peace and wealth.

3- Chandra Ghanta

She has a half moon(Chandra) on her forehead in the shape of a bell (Ghanta), that is why she is named as. 'Chandraghanta'. She is the third form of Goddess Durga, worshipped on the third day of Navaratri.

She gives peace, happiness, tranquility and prosperity. She has a golden bright complexion, ten hands, three eyes and mounts on a lion. She holds weapons in her hands. She is the symbol power and bravery, who has a great potential to slay the demons.

4- Kushmanda

'Kushmanda' is the fourth form of Durgamata, who is worshipped on the fourth day of Navaratri. Her name is a combination of words Ku-Ushm-Anda, means a warm egg.

So, she is believed to be the creator of the universe. She enlit the universe, which was dark and void, with her rays. She has sary, weapons, glitter etc., in her hands and she is mounted n a lion.She is shown as having ten or eight hands.

5- Skanda Mata

'Skanda Mata'is the fifth form of Durgamata is the mother of Skanda ie Lord Kartikeya. She has a bright complexion and is depicted as seated on a lotus.

She is worshipped on the fifth day of Navaratri and seen with Lord Skanda in his child form. Skanda Mata has four hands and three eyes.

She holds the child Skanda and a lotus in her hands. The left arm is in blessing posture and the lower hand also holds a lotus.

6- Katyayani

Katyayani', is the sixth form of Ma Durga, who is worshipped on the six day of Navaratri. As per the legend, The king Kata, who was a great sage and was wellknown in the lineage of saints had a son named 'Katya'.

Kata performed penance in order to get the blessings of the Durgama, to have a daughter in the form of a goddess. Pleased with his devotion, Durgamata granted his request and Katyayani was born to Kata as an avatar of Durgamata.

7- Kal Ratri

'Kaalratri' is the seventh form of Ma Durga and is worshipped on the seventh day of Navaratri. She has long free hair,three terrible eyes, fuming mouth, a lightning necklace.

She has a dark complexion like Kalimata and has a dynamic posture. She is mounted on a donkey with her right hand in granting boons and the right lower hand is in the pose of allaying fears.

The left upper hand holds a pointed metallic weapon and a dagger in the lower left hand. She holds a divine sword in her right hand to finish the demons.

She relieves all her devotees from fear and worries, hence she is called, 'Shubhamkari'. Shubham(good), Kari(doer).

8- Maha Gauri

'Maha Gauri',the dark complexioned Goddess, is the eighth form and isworshipped on the eighth day of Navaratri. She is calm and peaceful. Her blessings are instant and the devotees get rid of all their problems immediately.

Lord Shiva bathed her with the river Ganges water and her body regained its beauty and she came to be known as 'Maha Gauri'(Maha=very, Gauri=White).

She wears white clothes, has four arms, with the right hand in the pose of allaying fear and the lower right hand holds a trident.There is a 'Damru'(rattle drum)in the left upper hand and the lower one granting boons.She is mounted on a bull.

9- Siddhidatri

'Siddhidatri', is the ninth form of Goddess Durga, who is worshipped on the ninth day of Navaratri.Lord Shiva worshipped her and was blessed with all Siddhis. Siddhi means supernatural powers and Datri means Giver.

She has four arms and always in a pleasant,blissful pose. She is mounted on a lion. She blesses all Gods, saints, yogis, tantrics and all devotees as a manifestation of the Mother Goddess.

By her blessings, the half body of Shiva became female and other half male, in the avatar of 'Ardhnarishvar'.


Durga Mata Mantra

❘ ❘   Aum dumm Durgayai Namaha  ❘ ❘


Deities Menu

Please Click On Names For Information